• P: 306-955-0762


Vice President (Interim President): Jackie Kennedy

Battleford Indian & Metis Friendship Centre

960-103 Street North

Battleford, SK S9A 1K2

Telephone: (306)-445-8216

AFCS Treasurer: Ron Woytowich

Kikinahk Friendship Centre 
Box 254
La Ronge, Saskatchewan 
S0J 1L0

Email: kikinahk@kikinahk.com

Telephone: (306) 425-2051
Fax: (306) 425-3359

Ronald Woytowich is the Executive Director for Kikinahk Friendship Center in La Ronge.

This married (40 years) father of four and proud grandfather of three, has been at Kikinahk for the last 20+ years, coming to the centre in 1995 to fill the role of their bookkeeper, before he became the Executive Director a few years later. This short, chubby, man with the distinguished bald spot (all over) really loves his job, all of the staff, and the community. To him Kikinahk is the best place to work, because, of everything it does for the community.

Ron holds a number of degrees with the one in Public Administration being the most useful, because it has given him the knowledge to maneuver through the Federal and Provincial bureaucracies and funding opportunities open to Aboriginal organizations and Charities. He is also an accountant and is a member of the Canadian Aboriginal Financial Managers Association. Ron also possesses a Pro.Dir designation from the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy respecting Board Governance.

He has been a board member of various other community boards and organizations, including having served on the National Association of Friendship Centres as well. He is currently a board member of Cable Ronge in La Ronge, and is currently the Chair of the Mamawetan Churchill River Health Region.

AFCS Secretary: Gladys Joseph

North West Friendship Centre 
Box 254, 205 Centre Street
Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan S9X 1Z2

Telephone: 306-236-3766
Fax: 306-236-5451

Gladys Joseph is presently the Executive Director of the North West Friendship Centre in Meadow Lake, SK. She has been involved in the Friendship Centre movement for the past 36 years. Gladys is married and has a daughter, a son, a step daughter and nine grandchildren. Throughout the years she has been involved with the Friendship Centre movement, and has also been a part of the Aboriginal Friendship Centres of Saskatchewan, on the board as secretary and treasurer of the organization. She truly believes in the Friendship Centre movement, which has always been a major part of her life.

AFCS National Representative: Janet Carriere

Prince Albert Indian & Metis Friendship Centre

1409 1st Avenue East

Prince Albert, SK S6V 2B2

Telephone: (306)-764-3431

AFCS Youth Representative: Dakota Laliberte

AFCS Senator: Ray Fox

Battlefords, Saskatchewan

Email: ray_rkfox@sasktel.net

Telephone: 306 937-6898

Ray Fox was born May 21, 1951 in North Battleford. His grandfather is Ed Fox (Mak-eh-cec) of the Sweetgrass First Nation. Ray has a long history of service and dedication to the Battlefords and district. The constant theme in both his career and volunteer activities has been service to the community – whether as a politician, broadcaster, board member or director. He has also worked tirelessly to bring Aboriginal issues and perspectives to the forefront. 

Ray’s main employment is at the Battlefords Tribal Council as director of justice. He has extensive involvement in community justice awareness activities including public education and developing crime prevention strategies. Ray is one of five members of the Public Complaints Commission of Saskatchewan.

Ray was founding president and CEO for the National Aboriginal Communications Society from 1985 to 1995. This organization consisted of 21 distinct native communications societies which produced various forms of electronic and print media in 33 Aboriginal languages across Canada. NACS was the forerunner of the current Aboriginal Peoples Television Network (APTN).

From 1996 to 2002, Ray served as Executive Director at the Battlefords Indian Métis Friendship Centre. During this period, he also served as the national vice president and provincial president of Friendship Centres, NAFC and AFCS respectively.  Currently he’s a sitting national Senator. He was also chairman of the board of the Battlefords Urban Native Housing Corporation from 1997 until 2002.

Ray has worked with a variety of boards and service organizations over the years. Those have included the Battlefords United Way, the Saskatchewan Association of School Councils, Prairie Employment Program, Sakewew High School Management Committee, Battlefords Chamber of Commerce and the Fort Battleford Advisory Group. He has served on the University of Saskatchewan’s regional advisory committee and RCMP Victims Services personnel committee. Fox is currently on the SaskCulture First Nations & Métis Advisory Circle, a committee that fosters dialogue to allow First Nations and Métis people to provide SaskCulture Inc. with a First Nations and Métis perspective. Ray also demonstrates the importance of the First Nations belief system by volunteering as the First Nations Chaplin for the Prairie North Health Region as well as filling the role of Keeper of the Wandering Spirit gravesite. Bridging together First Nations with the rest of the community has been a hallmark for Ray Fox.

Ray was recognized for his service to community, country and fellow Canadians in November, 2002 when he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth Golden Jubilee Medal. He was also the recipient of the 2006 Federation of Saskatchewan Indian Nations “Citizen of the Year” award and in 2008 the Battlefords Citizen of the Year award. Most recently, Ray received the 2010 Premier’s Award for Excellence in the public service for his involvement with the Battlefords Domestic Violence Treatment Option Court.

Ray is married to Krista and they have two children, Cherish and Raymond. Ray also has an adult daughter Amanda Rae and another son, also named Raymond, who died in an accident several years ago. Ray also has a grandson Ryan.

facebook Feed

  • ...

    December 06, 2018 at 03:55 PM
  • ...

    December 05, 2018 at 11:43 AM

Twitter Feed